Saturday, September 23, 2023

NOEM: South Dakota Refuses to Take Biden’s Illegal Immigrants – Other Red States Too?

'The crisis is too big to ignore and is now spilling over the border states into all of our states...'

South Dakota Governor Kristi Noem, along with 19 of her fellow GOP governors, sent a letter Tuesday to President Joe Biden and Vice President Kamala Harris to take immediate action on the immigration crisis along the nation’s southern border.

“The crisis is too big to ignore and is now spilling over the border states into all of our states,” wrote Noem and the other governors.

“The cause of the border crisis is entirely due to reckless federal policy reversals executed within your first 100 days in office. The rhetoric of the Biden Administration and the rollback of critical agreements with our allies have led to the inhumane treatment of tens of thousands of children and undermined a fragile immigration system.”

Noem recently announced on Twitter that South Dakota “won’t be taking any illegal immigrants that the Biden administration wants to relocate.”

The governor clearly stated on Twitter in the April post, “My message to illegal immigrants…call me when you’re an American.”

The letter to Biden and Harris emphasized this sentiment, noting, “We have neither the resources nor the obligation to solve the federal government’s problem and foot the bill for the consequences of this Administration’s misguided actions.”

U.S. Border Patrol has been overwhelmed with over 300,000 apprehensions this year, noted Texas Republican Rep. Chip Roy during a Wednesday hearing with the House Judiciary Committee, according to Fox News.

The outlet added, “Roughly 22,000 unaccompanied minors have arrived at the border and are now being cared for by the U.S. Customs and Border Protection (CBP) and the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS).”

In addition to Noem, the letter’s signers included Alabama Governor Kay Ivey, Arizona Governor Doug Ducey, Arkansas Governor Asa Hutchinson, Georgia Governor Brian Kemp, Idaho Governor Brad Little, Indiana Governor Eric Holcomb, Iowa Governor Kim Reynolds, Mississippi Governor Tate Reeves, Missouri Governor Greg Parsons, Montana Governor Greg Gianforte, Nebraska Governor Pete Ricketts, New Hampshire Governor Chris Sununu, North Dakota Governor Doug Burgum, Oklahoma Governor Kevin Stitt, South Carolina Governor Henry McMaster, Tennessee Governor Bill Lee, Texas Governor Greg Abbott, Utah Governor Spencer Cox, and Wyoming Governor Mark Gordon.

Copyright 2023. No part of this site may be reproduced in whole or in part in any manner without the permission of the copyright owner. To inquire about licensing content, use the contact form at https://headlineusa.com/advertising.
- Advertisement -