Tuesday, April 16, 2024

Kaepernick, Fauci Given Robert F. Kennedy Human Rights Award

'Our country is yearning for leadership, for moral fortitude, for common decency and kindness...'

Failed NFL quarterback Colin Kaepernick and Dr. Anthony Fauci, one of the White House’s leading health experts, will be awarded the Robert F. Kennedy Human Rights Ripple of Hope Award, the organization announced on Monday.

Kaepernick and Fauci are examples of the “courageous pursuit of equality and justice,” the organization said in a statement, hailing them as “modern-day human rights defenders.”

Despite its noble-sounding rhetoric, the “human rights defenders” often tend to be far-left activists who have used their platforms to bash President Donald Trump and other Republicans in services of a specifically partisan agenda.

“Our country is yearning for leadership, for moral fortitude, for common decency and kindness, and this year’s Ripple of Hope laureates give us great hope for the future,” claimed Kerry Kennedy, president of Robert F. Kennedy Human Rights, in a statement.

“Their work for equal justice touches every corner of society, sometimes at great personal cost,” said Kennedy, one of the late attorney general’s daughters.

“We are deeply honored to celebrate these changemakers, who have set forth countless ripples of hope at a time when our world is in such need of inspiration,” she added.

Other persons expected to receive the award this year are: Dolores Huerta, co-founder of United Farm Workers of America; Dan Schulman, president and CEO of PayPal; and Dan Springer, CEO of DocuSign.

In a statement responding to the organization, Kaepernick recalled his experience watching musician and civil rights activist Harry Belafonte receive the same award in 2017.

“I am humbled to follow the footsteps of individuals like Mr. B and to be in the company of all the other laureates,” he said.

The organization’s decision to honor Kaepernick comes as the nation re-litigates the debate over athletes kneeling during the national anthem.

Kaepernick began this trend, which many still see as disrespectful and unpatriotic.

But others, including NFL Commissioner Roger Goodell, apologized to Kaepernick and asked him to advise the NFL’s new diversity-focused council moving forward.

Past recipients of the award include former President Barack Obama, Archbishop Desmond Tutu, failed presidential candidate Hillary Clinton and presumptive Democratic nominee Joe Biden.

Copyright 2024. No part of this site may be reproduced in whole or in part in any manner other than RSS without the permission of the copyright owner. Distribution via RSS is subject to our RSS Terms of Service and is strictly enforced. To inquire about licensing our content, use the contact form at https://headlineusa.com/advertising.
- Advertisement -